Sancerre depuis les vignes du domaine Roblin.jpg
Sancerre vins Roblin - Logo noir et couleurs long.png

Welcome to the website of Matthias and Emile Roblin, winegrowers in Sancerre.

Wine pairing Sancerre white cuvee Ammonites

The estate
WhatsApp Image 2021-06-24 at 10.22.18 (3).jpeg
The vineyards
Vignoble_Roblin_Sancerre.jpg
The winery
_D3S5905_LR.jpg
Our wines
_D3S5648_LR_edited.jpg
 

The estate

Located a few kilometres northwest of Sancerre in the winegrowing hamlet of  Maimbray in Sury-en-Vaux, our estate is above all the history of a family. We are two brothers - Matthias and Emile - the heirs of 4 generations of know-how and heritage that have been passed on at Château de Maimbray.

The men work in the vineyards, but the women are well represented at our estate! The administrative and sales departments are managed by our mother, Annick, and Angélique, Matthias’s wife. A dedicated team helps us with the daily work in the vineyards and at the winery.

Sury-en-Vaux village_Vignoble de Sancerr

We produce and sell wines that hail exclusively from the Sancerre appellation - primarily white wines, but also reds and rosés. We are not certified organic, but we are nevertheless committed to a sincere and resolute approach focused on respect for the environment as much in the vineyards as at the winery. We strive to craft wines that render the purest, most natural expression of our calcareous clay terroirs.

 
Taille vignes_Sancerre_mains du travailleur

The vineyards

Varitetals and terroirs

Our vineyards are composed of approximately forty plots that cover a total surface area of about 20 hectares on the steep slopes around the hamlets of Maimbray and La Vallée. Sauvignon Blanc grapes account for 87% while the remaining 13% is represented by Pinot Noir. The soil profile of our vineyards is predominantly Kimmeridgian and Portlandian (Late Jurassic) calcareous clay. These terroirs are locally referred to as “terres blanches” (white earth).

Our vineyard management techniques

We believe that it is essential to preserve our terroirs and ecosystem which are at the very essence of our work! We do not use any chemical fertilizers, herbicides, insecticides, or anti-rot products. Furthermore, we experiment with biodynamics, which is for plants what phytotherapy is for humans, allowing the vines to reinforce their natural defences. Plants used for teas and decoctions (horsetail, willow, etc.) are purchased from local suppliers for the most part. In 2020, we were granted the highest level (3) of HEV (High Environmental Value) certification which is based on 4 key areas: biodiversity conservation, plant protection strategy, fertilizer use and water management.

We cut our vines back hard according to the Guyot Poussard pruning method in order to balance the flow of sap and prevent trunk disease (Esca, BDA, etc.). We also carry out green pruning (disbudding, green harvest), the degree of which varies from year to year, in order to regulate production and obtain healthy, uniform grapes.

 

The winery

We work using gravity, limiting pumping as much as possible.

The juices and the vines are manipulated as little as possible so that they best express the aromas and flavours that are characteristic of our terroirs. Our wines are aged in stainless steel tanks, wooden vats and 600-litre barrels.

Work performed at the winery is as non-interventionist as possible, even though that requires strict hygiene protocols and constant supervision. We monitor temperatures to control vinification and keep the addition of sulphur to a minimum. Bottling and the entire packaging process are carried out by us, on the premises.

 

Our wines

In Sancerre, Sauvignon Blanc is king! Discover our range of white wines crafted from this varietal.

Origine Blc.png

SANCERRE BLANC

ORIGINE

Enclos.png
Ammonites Sancerre Roblin.png

We also produce 2 red Sancerre cuvées and a rosé made from our Pinot Noir grapes.

Origine rouge Roblin Sancerre.png
Sancerre Roblin Grande Côte Vallée.png
Origine Rosé Sancerre Roblin.png

Sancerre depuis les vignes du domaine Roblin.jpg
Sancerre vins Roblin - Logo noir et couleurs long.png

Bienvenue sur le site de Matthias et Emile Roblin,
vignerons à Sancerre.

Découvrez notre travail au gré des saisons.
Episode 1 : l'automne

Le domaine
WhatsApp Image 2021-06-24 at 10.22.18 (3).jpeg
Le vignoble
Vignoble_Roblin_Sancerre.jpg
La cave
_D3S5905_LR.jpg
Nos vins
_D3S5648_LR_edited.jpg
 

Le domaine

Situé à quelques kilomètres au nord-ouest de Sancerre, dans le hameau vigneron de Maimbray à Sury-en-Vaux, notre domaine est avant tout une histoire de famille. Nous sommes 2 frères, Matthias et Emile, héritiers d’un savoir-faire et d’un patrimoine cultivés depuis 4 générations au Château de Maimbray.

Les hommes sont les vignerons mais les femmes sont bien présentes dans notre domaine ! Nous sommes épaulés dans le travail administratif et commercial par notre mère Annick et Angélique, l’épouse de Matthias. Une équipe courageuse nous accompagne dans les travaux quotidiens de la vigne et de la cave.

Sury-en-Vaux village_Vignoble de Sancerr

Nous produisons et commercialisons exclusivement des vins de l’appellation Sancerre, majoritairement des vins blancs mais aussi rouges et rosés. Nous n’avons pas de certification biologique mais nous sommes néanmoins engagés dans une démarche sincère et volontaire de respect de l’environnement à la vigne comme à la cave. Nous cherchons à obtenir des vins qui soient l’expression la plus naturelle de nos terroirs argilo-calcaires.

 
Taille vignes_Sancerre_mains du travailleur

Le vignoble

Encépagement et terroirs

Notre vignoble se compose d’une quarantaine de parcelles qui représentent environ 20 hectares. Il est planté à 87% en sauvignon blanc et 13% en pinot noir sur des coteaux escarpés autour des hameaux de Maimbray et de La Vallée, sur la commune de Sury-en-Vaux. Les sols de notre vignoble sont principalement argilo-calcaires du Kimméridgien et du Portlandien (Jurassique supérieur). On désigne également ces terroirs sous le nom de « terres blanches ».

Nos pratiques culturales

Pour nous, il est essentiel de préserver nos terroirs et notre écosystème qui sont l’essence même de notre travail ! Nous n’employons ni engrais chimiques, ni herbicides, insecticides ou anti-pourritures. De plus, nous expérimentons la biodynamie, équivalent pour les plantes de la phytothérapie pour nous les hommes. Cela permet à la vigne de renforcer ses défenses naturelles. Les plantes utilisées pour les tisanes et les décoctions (prêle, osier…) sont achetées localement pour la plupart. En 2020, nous avons obtenu la certification HVE (Haute Valeur Environnementale) à son plus haut niveau (3). Ce label porte sur 4 points : la biodiversité, la pratique phytosanitaire, la fertilisation et la gestion de l’eau.

Nous pratiquons une taille rigoureuse de type Guyot Poussard afin d’équilibrer les flux de sève et ainsi limiter les maladies du bois (Esca, BDA). Ensuite, nous effectuons des travaux en vert (ébourgeonnages, vendanges en vert), plus ou moins stricts selon l’année, afin de contrôler la production et d’obtenir des raisins sains et homogènes.

 

La cave

Nous travaillons par gravité, en limitant les pompages autant que possible. Les jus puis les vins sont peu manipulés afin qu’ils expriment au mieux les arômes caractéristiques de nos terroirs. Nos vins sont élevés en cuves inox, cuves bois et fûts de 600 litres.

Le travail à la cave est le moins interventionniste possible même si cela demande une hygiène et une surveillance constante. Nous contrôlons les températures pour maîtriser la vinification et limitons au maximum les ajouts de soufre. La mise en bouteille et tout le processus de conditionnement sont réalisés de manière autonome au domaine.

 

Nos vins

À Sancerre, le sauvignon est roi ! Découvrez notre gamme de vins blancs issue de ce cépage.

Origine Blc.png

SANCERRE BLANC

ORIGINE

Enclos.png
Ammonites Sancerre Roblin.png

Nous produisons également 2 cuvées de Sancerre rouge et un rosé à partir de nos pinots noirs.

Origine rouge Roblin Sancerre.png
Sancerre Roblin Grande Côte Vallée.png
Origine Rosé Sancerre Roblin.png